Wednesday, September 27, 2023
HomeAcademicYoga, the science of discovering your true self since generations - Vedic...

Yoga, the science of discovering your true self since generations – Vedic Science

[I’m not a spiritual fellow. This is a random topic that I’m writing this article to improve my English in accordance with some of the learning from my late grandfather along with the help of internet-based self-learning.]

Chakras in Hinduism are like energy centers in the living organism. Chakras are like foam-lipped eddies of energy that reside in seven different areas traversing the spinal column. Mainly there are seven different chakras according to the spiritual science of Vedic culture. All these chakras are meeting points for different nearest and dearest organs and glands around them. These chakras are the main causes behind the praana function. Harm in chakra may distract you from your goal spiritually, mentally or from sound health. Below are the seven chakras.

Along with some meditations and following healthy daily nutrition and routines, Various Gems Stones and Special Rudraksha Garland are used in Vedic mythology.

In the image alongside, the outer side is a list of main chakras in the body. Inner is a list of some practices for your inner as well as outer wellbeing like knowing your self and loving your body. Yoga is a common practice among them around countries like Nepal and India since the yugas. With the ancient knowledge transferred from generation-to-generation since the inception of Pashupatinath in Nepal, we know what rudraksha’s significance is in the Hindu religion. Yoga is a pure science of your body that teaches you to know your ultimate self which we call as aatman. There are 8 limbs of yoga namely;

There are 8 limbs of yoga listed below:

  1. Yama (related to moral discipline)
  2. Niyama (related to observances)
  3. Asana (defines different postures and physical fitness)
  4. Pranayama (absolute science of breathing techniques)
  5. Pratyahara (sense mining not data mining somehow)
  6. Dharana (related to intense concentration)
  7. Dhyana (meditation practices)
  8. Samadhi (self-enlightenment)

Some spiritual gurus do say that MOKSHA is for aatma (i.e. soul) going above the sattva. Here sattva indicates pure knowledge of your self.

The 10 Yamas

  • Ahimsa or Non-injury
  • Satya or Truthfulness
  • Asteya or Nonstealing
  • Brahmacharya or Sexual Purity
  • Kshama or Patience
  • Dhriti or Steadfastness
  • Daya or Compassion
  • Arjava or Honesty
  • Mitahara or Moderate Diet
  • Saucha or Purity

The 10 Niyamas

  • Hri or Modesty
  • Santosha or Contentment
  • Dana or Charity
  • Astikya or Faith
  • Ishvarapujana or Worship of the Lord
  • Siddhanta Sravana or Scriptural Listening
  • Mati or Cognition
  • Vrata or Sacred Vows
  • Japa or Incantation
  • Tapas or Austerity

I’m just a Vedic science enthusiast and my field of specialty is Information Technology. I’ll try to update my knowledge if you find some misleading guff in my article. I’ll always be expecting some feedbacks from experts which I assume you’re probably. At last, I want to thank Sandeep Manudhane Sir for your teaching from my conscience.

I was utilizing my time by learning some self-help meditations. I hope it helps me to get ready to fight against Corona Virus as well. Haha!

The author of this blog post is a technology fellow, an IT entrepreneur, and Educator in Kathmandu Nepal. With his keen interest in Data Science and Business Intelligence, he writes on random topics occasionally in the DataSagar blog.
- Advertisment -

Most Popular